I am not attached to this car.

I’ve been watching a TV series on Netflix from 2007-2009 called “Life”. The series is about a police officer who is framed for murder in 1995 and sentenced to life in prison without the chance of parole. While there, he is beaten relentlessly and kept in solitary for his own protection. His life looks bleak.

He takes up studying Zen Buddhism. This helps him have a life separate from his bleak existence. 12 years later, his case is taken up by an attorney who proves that the evidence was not linked to him and that we was wrongfully imprisoned. He receives tens of millions of dollars from the LA Police Department, get his job back as a cop (now as a detective), and lives in a mansion with an ex-CEO whose life he saved in prison.

But he still practices Zen.

In the first episode, he’s driving around in a car that he clearly adores. He repeats to himself, “I am not attached to this car.” At another point in the show, he caresses the dashboard, then reminds himself that, “I am not attached to this car.”

At the end of the show after his first case is solved, he’s at a vineyard orchard that he’s purchased and the ex-CEO is there showing him his big, new tractor. The ex-CEO loses control of the tractor and backs over his car, completely crushing it. He says to himself, “I am not attached to this car.”

I am not Zen nor am I trying to be. However, given certain stressful events in my life, I have decided that it’s a good idea if I tell myself every once and a while that, “I am not attached to this car.”

Leave a Reply

