She’s not attached to the truth

I have a colleague who is a habitual liar. I’ve actually lost count of the number of times that she has either lied to me or tried to mislead me.

Last week, during a department meeting, I called her out on one of her lies. It was kind of easy since she stated that she hadn’t said something that everyone else in the room had heard her say. She didn’t take it well.

I’m often surprised by other people’s tolerance for lies. I consider lies, and the loss of credibility that comes with lies, to undermine any type of cooperative behavior. I find that others don’t share my concern and shrug off my colleague’s ability to ignore the truth.

She’s not attached to the truth. I am very attached to the truth. Does this hurt me?

Leave a Reply

